Anti-Russian sanctions extended by five European countries, including Ukraine

In September the European Union Council prolonged by six more months the application of EU sanctions targeting 146 persons and 37 entities

Four more countries have prolonged sanctions against Moscow for another six months. Montenegro, Albania, Liechtenstein and Norway imposed restrictions against the Kremlin for violation of the sovereignty of Ukraine and annexation of Crimea.

Federica Mogherini welcomed this decision in her statement saying “the European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.”

The sanctions imposed by Brussels against Russia will be valid until the end of 2017.

Read more EU prolongs sanctions over Russia’s actions against Ukraine’s territorial integrity

The Russian military intervention in Ukraine, which began in 2014, prompted a number of governments to apply sanctions against Russia, the punitive measures have been imposed by some 41 countries including the United States and the European Union members.


'Anti-Russian sanctions extended by five European countries, including Ukraine' has no comments

Be the first to comment this post!

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright 2016